A rather rambling note on a smoking burned out train, movies, angelheaded hipsters and wine

We met up in Obs and headed straight for the brick factory in Maitland on Friday. When we got there another camera crew was already doing a shoot which was a bit of a bummer as ja, it’s never too cool to realize you didn’t pick a very original spot. Anyway, the place *was* cool and the best part was definitely shooting inside a burned out train, sticky with soot and stuff I don’t want to know about…
 
I joined  the wonderful Lieve Vanleeuw and Andy Mason of Words & Images for supper the night before and boy, they totally got my mind going with ideas. There were shoes, masks, doorways, naked bums, Greek mythology, Janus, City Lights Bookstore, Lawrence Ferlinghetti and Allen Ginsberg… I suppose good company, good wine and trying to quote ‘Howl’ while having good wine does that to you. I can only quote the first sentence btw:-)
 
 
After the shoot I made my way to the Grand Daddy Hotel for a meeting which turned into beer and Jägermeister followed by a movie at my friend’s house. We watched ‘Badlands’ with Sissy Spacek and Martin Sheen. I thought it was quite dull but loved some of the cinematography and Sissy’s dresses. And it kinda made me wonder if Oliver Stone took some inspiration from this real live story for ‘Natural Born Killers’. The meeting was good though and the GD people are super supportive and positive which is awesome. Put November 11th in your diaries! Watched ‘Papillon’ on Saturday.
 
Will start editing Friday’s photo just now. I have a couple more emails to write, seriously stuck on money for the exhibition and listening to Dum Dum Girls. 
 
And so another week begins. And even if I couldn’t wake up for the life of me no matter how many coffees I drank something suddenly changed. I got some good news. Hopefully I can tell you more later this week.
 
Remember 11-11 for now though:-)
6 responses to “A rather rambling note on a smoking burned out train, movies, angelheaded hipsters and wine

  1. Juicy post Katie. Your day sounded fabulous and I can’t wait to hear your news. But don’t ‘watch’ Papillon….read it. Awful movie, awesome book! It’s glad to hear you’re so energised. xx Shannon

    • thanks Shansy:-) It was a fabulous day…. it was a fabulous weekend. Jumping head first into a freezing Atlantic ocean on a hot day with cold beers waiting to warm us up was another highlight:-) I had a great time. Yes, must get my hands on that book!

      And thank you for taking the time to comment! x

  2. sounds like a busy but awesome weekend. lets get together for wine, or beer, or anything drinkable really.

  3. Hey Skattie, awesome weekend you had! Me too 😉
    Tell us the good news!! Watched Big Fish yesterday, couldn’t do another STeve McQueen in a prisonbreak.

Leave a Reply

